First Cow – A taste of western narrative

The core of the film is the friendship between King-Lu and Cookie (John Magaro), who meet in the forest while the latter is running with a group of fur trappers on the verge of cashing in their pelts. Recognizing that King-Lu is a man on the run, Cookie—whose quiet, wary bearing marks him as an outsider—gives him shelter.

Vues d’Afrique 2020 – Short Animation and Documentaries

What I want to share with you are; one short animation, two middle-length, and one short documentary (from the “Regards d’ici” section). All of them are very well-made.  Bintou Mariage Précoce (Mamahadou Kheraba Traore) – Senegal Bintou is a 13-year-old girl. As any girl at her age, she goes to…

Plein(s) Écran(s) – RIDM Weekend

The four short films presented here are all documentaries that deal with social issues. You will definitely be brought to think about those issues.  I Signed the Petition (Fleifel Mahdi) – Canada Immediately after a Palestinian man signs an online petition, he is thrown into a panic-inducing spiral of self-doubt.…

Drag Kids – This is Just Beginning

“Boom!” Stephan, Jason, Nemis and Bracken aren’t teens yet. Like other kids of their age they’re living carefree lives except when it comes to their shared passion: drag queen routines. In imitating character (Queen Lactatia, Laddy GaGa or Suzan Bee Anthony) or exaggerating feminine stereotypes (Bracken), these kids transform and…

And then we danced – For its Own Sake

Merab has been training since he was young at the National Georgian Ensemble with his dance partner Mary. His world is suddenly turned upside down when the charismatic and carefree Irakli arrives and becomes his strongest rival as well as his desire. In the conservative world he lives, Merab finds himself liberating. But at the same time, he finds himself in a dangerous situation.

First Cow – Une ivresse du récit western

Le cœur du film est l’amitié entre King-Lu et Cookie (John Magaro), qui se rencontrent dans la forêt tandis que ce dernier court avec un groupe de trappeurs de fourrures au bord de l’encaissement de leurs peaux. Reconnaissant que King-Lu est un homme en fuite, Cookie – dont le calme et la méfiance le marquent comme un étranger – lui offre un abri.

Vues d’Afrique 2020 – Courts d’Animation et documentaires

Ce que je veux partager avec vous, c’est une courte animation, ainsi que deux moyens et un court-métrage documentaire (de la section « Regards d’ici »). Tous sont très bien faits. Bintou Mariage Précoce (Mamahadou Kheraba Traore) – Sénégal Bintou est une fille de 13 ans. Comme toute fille de…

Plein(s) écran(s) – Weekend RIDM

Les quatre courts métrages présentés ici sont tous des documentaires traitant de questions sociales. Vous serez certainement amené à réfléchir à ces questions. I Signed the Petition (Fleifel Mahdi) – Canada Assailli de doutes après avoir signé une pétition demandant au groupe de Thom Yorke de ne pas faire de…

Drag Kids – Ce n’est qu’un début

« Boom! » Stephan, Jason, Nemis et Bracken n’ont pas encore atteint l’adolescence et sont sur bien des  plans comme les autres enfants de leur âge. À une différence près, leur passion commune : performer en drag queen. En endossant des personnages (Queen Lactatia, Laddy GaGa ou Suzan Bee Anthony)…

And then we danced – En nous-mêmes

Depuis sa tendre enfance, Merab danse en duo avec Mary. Son univers bascule avec l’arrivée du charismatique Irakli qui devient rapidement un rival, mais également l’objet d’une attirance insoupçonnée. Tiraillé entre ses ambitions professionnelles et la nécessité de trouver sa voie, Merab doit faire des choix qui changeront à jamais son existence.